I’m colorblind. It’s no big deal for me since I’ve been this way all my life. Like most people with a handicap, I have found ways to deal with it: I have a limited palette of clothes I wear, I rarely describe things using colors, and I try to guess the color of things using hue and lightness. I can’t tell if a bananna is ripe unless it has spots, I only know the color of stop lights by their position, and if something’s dark blue to me, I assume it’s purple to you.

I’ve always wondered what it would be like to have full color vision, but science hasn’t come that far yet. However, you can see what it’s like to be colorblind.

See the circles filled with blobs? These are Ishihara colorblind testing patterns. Supposedly there is a number in the one on the left. The one on the right is how I see the same circle.

ishiharaMe.jpg isharaYou.jpg

Here are two more pictures: one the way you see it; one the way I see it. I, of course, see no difference between them.

vendorMe.jpg vendorYou.jpg

And, there you go–welcome to my world.

