Greyhound is the best way to travel back and forth between RNO and SFO. I've written about it here before, and a number of people have asked questions about the whole "bus" thing.

All those questions will be answered here in my new project, Bus Trip-Tips. I'll cover the basics and the tricks to make your ride more enjoyable, plus, I'll share the insider secrets only known by frequent riders. I think you'll agree with me, Greyhound's the only way to go.

Let's start with one of my favorite rest stops: Colfax.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingThe first thing you see when you pull into the stop is a big sign in the sky proclaiming "Food" and "Liquor," both of which you can get in abundance here, if, by "Food" you mean snacks. Greyhound has a strict policy against the drinking of alcoholic beverages while on the bus, but that doesn't necessarily mean you can't get on the bus if you've already been drinking.

Photobucket - Video and Image HostingThe bus stops in front of the Standlock Bottle Shop where you can get your food and liquor inside. Oh, wait, skip the liquor. They won't sell it to you if you're riding the bus. It was here in Colfax where I witnessed a guy—who lied about being on the bus and bought some booze and then tried to sneak it back on—sucker-punch the driver when he tried to stop him from boarding. Then the guy ran into the woods. At night. In Winter. With his wife and new-born baby on the bus. She said he was on parole and wasn't supposed to leave Nevada. The bus driver was fine.

Tips For Colfax:

  • Photobucket - Video and Image HostingDon't go to the nearby Subway sandwich shop. The bus only stays 10-15 minutes. We once left a cute hippy boy stranded in Colfax because he thought he'd have enough time to grab some real "Food." Goodbye, cute hippy boy! Time, Tide, and Greyhound bus drivers wait for no one.

  • Use the restroom located nearby in the Tesoro gas station. It's reasonably clean for a gas station restroom and the Men's side has a toilet and urinal. No waiting!

The reason why Colfax is one of my favorite stops on my rides is because when I get there, I know I'm almost home to Reno, or, I'm almost home to San Francisco.

